Forgive and repair

I Can expect and hope that I will never do anything to be ashamed of. Whether I live or die, I always want to be brave as I am now and bring honor to Christ.
Phil. 1:20 (CEV)

On the contrary, everything happening to me in this jail only serves to make Christ more accurately known, regardless of whether I live or die. They didn’t shut me up; they gave me a pulpit! Alive, I’m Christ’s messenger; dead, I’m his bounty. Life versus even more life! I can’t lose. Phil 1:20 (MSG)

Originally when I first read these verses I though of my own biological father, a man who grew up in ac hristian home. Thanks be to God that my grandmother learned that she had to rely on a higher power to make sure her children were taken care of, or I think she would have experienced much more heartache and a lot less hope than she did in all her 74 years on earth. My dad still strayed from the truth. At the height of his rough living dad spent approximately 15 years incarcerated. When you are at your lowest point you can usually find God there on the ground with you, willing to pick you up. Due to the shaky nature of my family I have witnessed this first hand and upon his incarceration so did my father.
In the past 3 years we have made tremendous bounds in fixing the severed relationship. There is still anger , hurt , and at times distance, but when you are so used to someone not being there it is hard to remember that they can be now. It also does my heart good to know that in his failed health from all those years doing as he wanted to he still has a chance in heaven.

The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil. Ecclesiastes 12:13-14 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

